By Cheryl Licklider Staff Writer

Casey McClaskey had the Ponca City fans on their feet as he drove his Pioneer Hydraulics/TT--T Oil-sponsored modified to his first career win in the main event at Enid Motor Speedway Saturday night.

"Tonight was amazing,'' said McClaskey. "My dad and I had a great week getting the car ready; everything came together and worked out just right. In fact I told my girlfriend before I left Mustang that I was going to win the feature tonight."'

McClaskey raced off the pole and showed the way. McClaskey's run was slowed down in lap seven as he flew off the track in turn four, avoiding a stalled car during a yellow flag.

McClaskey headed up the field when the race went green, with Greg Burt in the hunt. Lady luck frowned on Burt as he tangled with a lapped car and spun on the back four laps later.

McClaskey sped away on the restart, with Dusty Robbins in hot pursuit. McClaskey found the fast way around the track and was unstoppable as he drove his Hebbs Motor-powered ride to victory lane. Robbins held onto second, with Jim Ciampi, Chad McNamara and Jim Johnson rounding out the top five.

Experience paid off for veteran Jerry Derr as he raced his Norman's Racing Engines-sponsored street stock to his second feature win of the year.

Dustin Allen exploded off the second row and showed the way in the 20-lap race. Allen found the quick way around the track and sported a straightaway lead in a mere three laps. A yellow flag dropped midway through the race when Milt David flew off the track and came to a rest in front of the grandstands.

There was a heated duel when the race went green as Derr pitted his ride against Allen and took the point, with Allen fading to the pits two laps into the restart.

Derr charged away from the field, with A.J. Brochu in hot pursuit. The duo raced away from the field locked in a frenzied battle. Derr held the preferred line to the finish, with Brochu settling for second, followed by Kevin Dickson, Stevie Slater and Ray Nulf.

Earl Whitley displayed his winning ways as he put his Neilson Garage Door-sponsored factory stock in victory lane for the fifth time this season.

Whitley hustled off the second row and headed up the field with nearly a straightaway lead in the first three laps. Whitley skillfully lapped nearly a quarter of the field before a caution waved in lap 17.

With a clean track in front of him on the restart Whitley was unstoppable and sped to the line uncontested. Justin Danner, Ronnie Ramer, Tim Gardner and R.J. Ramer trailed at the finish.

2005 champion Johnie "The Rocket'' Rauschenberg continued his reign in mini stock as he put his Dunsworth Machine-powered Mustang in the winner's circle for the 14th time this season.

Danny Portwood exploded off the front row and took command of the quick-paced race. Rauschenberg marched from the back of the field and used a lap-three caution to his advantage, taking the point when the race went green.

Rauschenberg shot away from the field, and despite a late-race yellow flag, was never challenged.

John Pankratz, Justin Danner, Danny Aytes and Joe Piper rounded out the top five.

Jason Gerhard was in the right place at the right time as he posted his fourth win of the season in pure stock.

Shawn Stewart showed the way in the caution-riddled race but his luck ran out in lap seven as he tangled with Matt Branson and spun to a stop on the front stretch.

Gerhard took the advantage when the race went green and never looked back. L.K. Sisney made a late charge but settled for second, trailed by Travis Jordan, Duane Head and Jesse Canaan.

Heat winners in modified were Ciampi, Burt and McClaskey, with Mike Roach, David and Derr winning their heats in street stock.

The third street stock heat was red-flagged when Russell Reed hit the wall and rolled over on the back straight.

Factory stock heat winners were Gardner, Fred Ramer and Mark Smith.

Mini stock heat wins went to Rauschenberg and Portwood, with Branson, Ed McGee and Gerhard taking the honors in pure stock.

Enid Motor Speedway's final point night of the season will be 7 p.m. Saturday.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you