CHS' Hann leads East to Classic Bowl win

Players celebrate at the conclusion of the Classic Bowl all-star football game Friday in Woodward. (Photo: Woodward News)

WOODWARD, Okla. — Five touchdown passes carried the East team past the West 33-26 in Classic Bowl XXXI football Friday night at Boomer Stadium.

The back and forth game saw the West take the early lead before the East went up 20-13 at the half, despite turning the ball over three times.

The East led throughout the second half, going up 26-13 on a Griffin Lamb to Noah Hann touchdown pass in the third period.

It stayed that way until the midway point of the fourth quarter when Woodward's Blake Alexander scored on a one-yard run to trim the lead to 26-20.

The West forced a punt and moved inside the 30, but the East defense turned the threat away and a touchdown pass from Mitchell Meier to Chad McGolden with 1:25 left put the game away.

Canadian, Texas, teammates Casen Cavalier and Garrison McCook hooked up for an 18-yard touchdown with 3.3 seconds left to complete the scoring.

Hann, from Chisholm, caught two touchdown passes and was named the East MVP for the game. Cavalier was the West MVP.

During halftime scholarship winners were introduced.

The winners of the $2,000 scholarships for the week included Maddie Mason of Fairview (girls basketball), Jonathan Geels of Watonga (boys basketball), Isaac Rosales of Woodward (band), Harlee Newby of Woodward (cheer) and Traber Smithson of OBA (football).

Here is a roundup of Thursday and Friday Classic Bowl activity.

Recipients of the annual awards handed out by the Classic Bowl Foundation during Friday’s banquet at the Woodward Conference Center were:

East Coach of the Year: Dusty Yauk, Buffalo

West Coach of the Year: Chris Koetting, Canadian, Texas

East Defensive Player of the Year: Declan Haub, Kingfisher

West Defensive Players of the Year: Caleb Martinez and Cutter Kelton, Canadian, Texas

East Offensive Player of the Year: Kade Dillard, Fairview

West Offensive Player of the Year: Casen Cavalier, Canadian, Texas

Classic Award Winner: Braylin Hill, Shattuck

Drew Williams Memorial Scholarship: Traber Smithson, Oklahoma Bible Academy.

Click for the latest, full-access Enid News & Eagle headlines | Text Alerts | app downloads

Compiled by staff for Woodward News, a CNHI News Service publication.

React to this story:


Recommended for you