Search / 2 results found


Among others, four Congressional acts had a great impact on Indian Territory. First was the Indian Removal Act of 1830 that forced the Five Civilized Tribes to move to Indian Territory. Pushed by President Andrew Jackson, this legislation sent thousands of native people from the southeastern states over their “Trail of Tears” to a new homeland.