All EPS schools to benefit from new teacher award

Enid Public Schools

ENID, Okla. — Enid Public Schools has established a new award to recognize and provide a little money to teachers who exemplify the district's current motto: Excellence for All.

“Some students are working to overcome language barriers, while others face the adversity of a learning disability. Some students require the rigor of more challenging curriculum, while others need extra support to deal with traumatic events in the lives,” Superintendent Darrell Floyd said. “Every student is different, and — for Enid Public Schools — all means all. We want to recognize teachers for their commitment to all students.”

Named for the donors who made it possible, the Dan and Karen Randall Excellence for All Award will bestow $500 each on two teachers from two EPS schools every month, according to Enid Public Schools. Funds can be spent on classroom needs and supplies.

“We are so grateful to Mr. and Mrs. Randall for sponsoring this monthly award,” Floyd said. “Our teachers work hard every day to ensure all children reach their greatest potential. It is wonderful to have an award to recognize them for their efforts and dedication. It is even more meaningful when the award is made possible by generous and supportive members of our community.”

The Randalls have been long time supporters of the district, according to EPS, and are former students themselves. The award is intended to honor teachers who are giving of their, talents and resources for the benefit of their students.

“Teachers impact the lives of everyone,” Dan Randall said. “It takes a special person to share their knowledge, and often share a portion of their own funds, to equip and run the classroom for the students. Teachers are not paid what they are worth. This is an issue we all need to address now. A quality education — Excellence for All — can open so many doors making the lives of the students, their family, friends and all a better world.”

Teachers can be nominated by students, parents, and members of the community at www.enidpublicschools/excellenceforall.

Awards will be given to teachers at schools "in order of their socioeconomic need," according to EPS, which has been established using free and reduced-lunch percentages.

In September, Garfield Elementary School and Longfellow Middle School were first up, and will be followed by Monroe and Coolidge elementary schools in October. Adams and McKinley elementary schools are slated for November, Emerson Middle School and Enid High School in December, Taft and Hoover elementary schools in January, Glenwood and Hayes elementary schools in February, Waller Middle School and Prairie View Elementary School in March, Eisenhower Elementary School and Carver Early Childhood Center in April, and Lincoln Academy in May.

Click for the latest, full-access Enid News & Eagle headlines | Text Alerts | app downloads

Willetts is education and city reporter for the Enid News & Eagle.
Have a question about this story? Do you see something we missed? Do you have a story idea for Mitchell? Send an email to

React to this story:


Recommended for you