By Cheryl Licklider Staff Writer

Johnnie "The Rocket'' Rauschenberg continued his dominance in mini stock as he piloted his Dunsworth Machine powered-Mustang to his 10th A feature win this season in racing action at Enid Motor Speedway Saturday night

Rauschenberg's winning streak prompted Enid Collision Center to place a $100 bounty on him. If any driver can beat Rauschenberg, they will claim the extra purse. However, if Rauschenberg can continue his reign for an additional four weeks he will claim the bounty.

"My car ran good tonight and outlasted the field,'' said Rauschenberg.

Kevin Legleiter sped off the pole and took command of the swift race. Legleiter hooked up his Ford in a fast groove and looked unbeatable.

But the man on the move was the hard-charging Rauschenberg. He marched from the middle of the field and drove up on the leader's bumper in lap six.

Rauschenberg took the point with a daring low charge in lap seven and set up a straight away advantage in a single lap. He artfully maneuvered through lapped traffic, and despite a lap 12 caution, took a powerful lead to the line.

John Pankratz raced to second, followed by Legleiter, Danny Portwood and Shawn Walton.

Legleiter was black flagged by officials for rough driving, which saw Monty Lanning inherit fifth.

Tommy Weder Jr., dominated in modifieds as he piloted his Brand Racing Engines-powered ride to his second win of the season in the Car-Mart sponsored main event.

Kip Hughes rushed off the outside pole and took control of the race. His glory was short lived as he stalled in turn four, while the race was under caution in lap two.

Travis Johnson hustled away from the field on the restart. A lap five yellow flag tightened up the brutal field, and put Troy Gemmill and Weder in contention.

Gemmill and Weder made insistent challenges on the leader with Weder using a daring inside challenge to take the point in lap 10. Weder sailed into a commanding advantage and never looked back on his path to the checkers.

Johnson settled for second with Gemmill, Todd Decker and Bud Longpine rounding out the top five.

Milt David outlasted the field in the wild-and-woolly street stock main as he put his BB Machine and Supply-sponsored ride in the winner's circle for the first time this season.

A red flag waved in lap six for a violent three-car pile-up on the back straight. The incident saw Stevie Slater receive the black flag for rough driving.

Pacesetter Phil Pearson led the restart, but his luck ran out in lap 11 as he was towed to the hot pits while the race was under caution.

David took the lead when the green flag waved. He found the fast way around the track and made his way to victory lane with over a straight-away lead.

Joe Adams posted second, followed by Zach Slater, Kenny Morris and Seth Slater.

Dave Cameron was in the right place at the right time as he captured his first career win in the Car-Mart sponsored-factory stock A aboard his C-Stops/Buffalo Vending/A-Ton-sponsored car.

"My car was great tonight,'' said Cameron."I want to give special thanks to Gary and Logan Macy."'

Hershel Stewart raced off the outside pole and showed the way in the 20-lap race. A restart for a lap two caution put Aaron Morse on his bumper. The duo entered a heated battle that ended in disaster as they crashed in front of the field in lap 7 bringing out a yellow flag.

Morse was black flagged for rough driving and Stewart was towed to the hot pits.

Cameron inherited the lead when the green flag waved. Josh Coulter and Ryan Knight went in pursuit of Cameron and the three raced so close you could have thrown a blanket over them.

Cameron guided the field to the finish with Coulter, Knight, Mark Smith and Dustin Choate trailing at the line.

Matt Branson dominated in pure stock as he posted his second win of the year in the caution-riddled main event.

There was mayhem on the start bringing out a red flag as Tim Smart rolled violently when the 17-car field roared into turn one.

L.K. Sisney sped off the pole when the race went green. A yellow waved the next time around when Jason Gerhard hit a tractor tire and went airborne.

Branson took the point on the restart with Sisney in hot pursuit. Branson held the preferred line to take the checkered flag.

Sisney settled for second, followed by Shawn Stewart, Kyle Wolfe and Dustin Satterley.

Modified heat winners were Johnson, Gemmill and Hughes.

Street stock heat wins went to David, Pearson and Travis King. Morse and Stewart posted heat wins in factory stock.

Legleiter and Rauschenberg won their heats in mini stock. Wolfe and Branson took honors in pure stock.

Enid Motor Speedway's next card of racing will be 7 p.m. Saturday.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you