The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

January 9, 2013

Oklahoma Commission on School Security members named

Enid News and Eagle

— Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb, Senate President Pro Tempore Brian Bingman, House Speaker T.W. Shannon, Senate Democratic Leader Sean Burrage and House Democratic Leader Scott Inman announced Wednesday members of the Oklahoma Commission on School Security.

Lamb, a former United States Secret Service agent and Enid native, will serve as chairman of the commission and looks forward to the work set to be accomplished.

“Partnering with legislative leaders to create the Oklahoma Commission on School Security was a much-needed, proactive decision,” Lamb said. “Our children deserve safe and secure learning environments, and this commission is committed to doing just that. Each commission member brings experience from their respective field that will generate ideas and solutions to enhance school security.”

Members of the Oklahoma Commission on School Security include local school personnel, law enforcement, parents and health care professionals.

They are: Roger Webb, headmaster of Oklahoma Christian School, former president of University of Central Oklahoma and former commissioner of the Department of Public Safety; retired Maj. Gen. Lee Baxter, a member of the State Board of Education; Ryan Brown, associate professor of psychology at the University of Oklahoma; Lyn Watson, Oklahoma City school board member; Randy Holley, superintendent of Shattuck Public Schools; Gary Quinn, superintendent of Bartlesville Public Schools; Kevin Burr, superintendent of Sapulpa Public Schools; Mike McClaren, superintendent of Claremore Public Schools; Trice Butler, principal of Wilburton Middle School; Sharon Brady, assistant director of special education for Lawton Public Schools; and Tammy Will, teacher at Morrison Public Schools.

Also, Eleanor Goetzinger, behavior specialist for Oklahoma City Public Schools; Jerry McConnell, director of facility operations for Moore Norman Technology Center; David Prater, Oklahoma County district attorney; Kim Carter, director of Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security; Brandon Clabes, Midwest City Police chief; Capt. Tim Dorsey, Edmond Police Department; Darry Stacy, Cleveland County commissioner; Gary Rudick, chief of Tulsa Public Schools Campus Police; Maj. James Blocker, director of EMS, Oklahoma City Fire Department; Gary Armbruster, principal architect for MA+ Architecture; and Phil Armstrong, assistant pastor of Metropolitan Baptist Church in Tulsa.

Commission members will hold several meetings, the first set to convene at 1:30 p.m. Jan. 22 at the state Capitol, Room 419-C. Meeting agendas will include speaker testimony and discussion on the fa-ctors related to school security, including public safety, mental health, training, engineering and local control. The commission plans to provide suggestions and legislative recommendations regarding school security for the 2013 legislative session.

Oklahomans are encouraged to submit their ideas for study in the commission by calling Lamb’s office at (405) 521-2161.