The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

October 9, 2013

New prep football districts released

By Bruce Campbell, Staff Writer
Enid News and Eagle

BROKEN ARROW, Okla. — Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association released the new football districts Wednesday for the 2014-15 seasons.

As earlier reported, Enid High School will be joined in its new district (District 2) in the newly created Class 6A-Division II by Putnam City West, Choctaw, Lawton Eisenhower, Lawton, Midwest City and Stillwater.

Beginning next season, Class 6A will be divided into two 16-team divisions based on Average Daily Membership (ADM). Based on current ADM, Enid will be the 18th largest school in 6A, which places it in Division II.

Elsewhere, Oklahoma Bible Academy won’t have to be making its two annual trips to the Panhandle for district football games the next two years.

The Trojans were moved from District A-1 to A-5, where they will be paired with Watonga, Cashion, Crescent, Crossings Christian, Oklahoma Christian Academy and Okeene, who is also making the move from A-1 for the 2014-15 seasons.

“Traveling is going to be a lot better,’’ said OBA coach Mark Boyd. “We’re going to be seeing some difference faces, but except for OCA, we have played or scrimmaged all those other teams before.’’

OBA and Cashion were district rivals while in 8-man.

Boyd will attend a district meeting at 9 a.m. today at Watonga, where the district schedule will be drawn up. Boyd has started work on the non-district schedule.

“That’s going to be the hard part,’’ he said with a chuckle.

Garber coach Mark Harmon welcomed a move from District B-1 east to B-3 where the Wolverines will be with Woodland, Agra, Davenport, Depew, Oaks, South Coffeyville, Watts, Welch and Bartlesville Wesleyan.

“It’s some new scenery,’’ he said. “We have been in the toughest district in the state for a long time (since GHS went 8-man in 1990). We don’t mind getting out of it for a year or two.’’

Chisholm is staying in District 2A-1, which will have the same alignment.

Pioneer, after eight years in 11-man, moves back to B-1 which will have two newcomers in Kremlin-Hillsdale and Turpin. Canton, Laverne, Merritt, Pond Creek-Hunter, Ringwood, Seiling, Turpin and Waukomis stay in the district.

Cherokee is moving from C-3 to C-1 where it will be paired with Buffalo, Balko, Boise City, Goodwell, Sharon-Mutual, Shattuck, Tyrone and Waynoka. The Chiefs were in C-3 only two years.

Covington-Douglas and Medford, which have been in B-1 the last two years, return to C-3 with Bluejacket, Carney, Copan, Coyle, Deer Creek-Lamont, Prue and Timberlake.

Thomas, Sayre and Burns Flat-Dill City will replace OBA, Okeene and Turpin in A-1.

Woodward’s District 4A-1 stays the same except for Newcastle replacing Piedmont.

Kingfisher’s 3A district has undergone some changes. Heritage Hall and Centennial are the lone holdovers in the new 3A-1, which will also include Perkins-Tryon, Blackwell, Cushing and Mannford.