The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK


October 28, 2012

Pickerill captures mod lites victory at Winter Nationals

ENID, Okla. — The race fans who braved the cool temperatures were treated to an exciting show at Enid Speedway’s 47th Annual Winter Nationals Saturday afternoon as 128 drivers from four states made their way to the event at the 3⁄8 mile oval.

Corbin Pickerill, of Salina, Kan., found the haul to Enid profitable as he captured the win in mod lites and took home the $500 purse.

“I knew (Joey) Bradshaw was coming fast on that final lap and just stayed down low and hugged the line,” said Pickerill. “I have to give the glory to Jesus Christ, my Lord and savior.”

Pickerill launched his ride off the front row and had lapped through nearly a quarter of the field when Ken Morgan barrel-rolled in turn four and brought out a red flag barely three laps into the race.

Bradshaw made a late charge, but settled for second followed by Brian Davidson, Mike Kennedy and Ryan Secrest.

• Angel Munoz’s determination paid off as he captured the pure stock crown.

Terry Costello raced off the outside pole and took control on the start, but his glory was short-lived as Munoz took the point the second time around.

Andrew Kunkel came to a halt and put the race under caution. Costello led the start only to see another yellow wave for a three-car crash in turn one.

James Goldman, Jr. grabbed the top spot on the start and had a strong lead when mayhem put the track back under caution in lap four. Undaunted Goldman put his ride out front when the race resumed.

Shaw hurried to the front with Munoz in tow. The battle heated up with Shaw leading the way in lap six. Munoz raced to the front and a heated duel ensued with Munoz and Shaw trading back and forth to the line.

Munoz won by a half-car length. Shaw held on for second followed by Goldman, Costello and Shane Vore.

• Perseverance paid off for Don Hodge as he clinched the win in the caution-riddled modified dash and secured the pole in today’s main event.

Dan Powers sprinted off the outside pole and took command of the fast and furious race. Four cautions in the first two laps did little to slow down Powers, but a fifth yellow flag put Hodge in contention, and following a two-lap drag race, Hodge broke away into the lead.

• Travis Johnson, 2012 NCRA champion, displayed his winning style as he put his Western Flyer Express southern sport modified in the winner’s circle with a dazzling victory run in the 15-lap dash to secure the pole in today’s championship race.

• Determination paid off for Lance Sessions as he posted the win in the 15-lap factory stock dash and qualified for the pole in today’s championship feature.

Adam Popp raced off the outside pole and led the early goings. Kenton Handers came to a halt in the groove and put the race under caution in lap four.

Popp continued his run when the race went green, and despite two additional yellow flags, appeared undaunted. Sessions seized the lead on the restart and never looked back.

Popp settled for second trailed by James Weve, Billy Phelps and Branden Rhodes.

• Modified heat wins went to Cole Traugott, Powers, Hodge and Mickey Lassiter.

• Maddox, Jeff Kaup, Johnson, J.D. Choate and Ross McCartney posted the wins in the sport modified heats.

• Pickerill and Davidson scored the heat wins in mod lites.

• Factory stock heat winners were Kyle Vibbard, Popp and Curtis Woods.

• Dewayne Grimm, Costello and Vore picked up the heat wins in pure stock.

Racing will resume at 2 p.m. today with a full show by late models and street stocks.  Modifieds, sport modifieds and factory stocks will return for last-chance qualifiers and their championship features.

Text Only
Click here for NASCAR headlines
Sports Photos

Enid News & Eagle sports photos from the month of February 2014. Enjoy all the ENE photos with full access at