The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK


October 28, 2012

Johnson wins at Winter Nationals

ENID, Okla. — Travis Johnson thrilled the hometown crowd as he led all 20 laps of the sport modified main event at Enid Speedway’s 47th annual Winter Nationals Sunday afternoon to claim the championship crown.

“We had a pretty good hot rod today,’’ Johnson said “The track was a little slicker than yesterday, but we kept our nose clean and stayed out front.”

Johnson exploded off the pole aboard his Custom Shack Western Flyer Express and set up a straight-away lead in a mere four laps.

Johnson was maneuvering lapped traffic when a twin spin brought out a caution in lap 17. The restart tightened up the field on Johnson’s half-a-lap advantage and put the hard-charging Todd Decker on his bumper.

Johnson had the fastest ride and never looked back on his path to the finish. Decker finished second, followed by Joe Adams, J.D. Choate and Mark Harrison.

Woodward’s Tommy Weder was untouchable in the late model championship race as he led the entire feature to claim the 2012 championship.

“The car was awfully good tonight,” Weder said. “It is always good to home come.  I grew up watching racing here and started my first dirt-tracking on this track.”

Two yellow flags waved before the gladiators of dirt could get their race under way.  

Weder put his Tara Apartments-sponsored ride out front, only to see another caution come out for debris. Weder picked up where he left off when the race went green and took a half-a-lap lead to the finish line.

Ronnie Warman finished second with Chris Kratzer, Jimmy Segraves and Gary Gorby trailing at the line.

You only have to lead the last lap to win, and that’s just what Wichita’s Kirby Robe did to claim the title in the modified championship race.

“This is awesome,” Robe said. “What an unbelievable race.”

Don Hodge claimed the lead on the start and boasted nearly a straight-away advantage when a yellow flag waved in lap 8 as Cole Traugott came to the stop on the back wall.

Flyin’ Ryan McAnich found the quick way around on the start, and despite two late race cautions, looked to be the man to beat. A violent restart sent him flying over the wall in turn two in lap 18.

Hodge resumed the lead, only to be taken out of the race in turn one by McAnich. Both drivers vaulted from their cars and a fistfight erupted in turn two.

Robe hurried away when the race went green and held the lead to the line.

Greg Burt made a late challenge, but settled for second followed by Mickey Lassiter, Dan Powers and Tyler Davis.

Darren Moses of Valley Center, Kan, outlasted the field in the caution-riddled street stock feature to claim the Nationals title.

A yellow waved on the start as Jerrod “The Wild Child” Reimer slid sideways and collected three cars. A four-car pileup on the restart kept the track under caution.

Moses sprinted off the outside pole and showed the way when the race finally went green. Moses found a fast line and sported a straight-away advantage when Shelby Stucky took a wild ride after she clipped the back wall and rolled off the track, bringing out a red flag in lap 5.

Moses hurried away on the restart and was never challenged on his path to the checkers.

Les Mertens claimed second, followed by Chris Pitts, Wesley Kruckenberg and Jason Nulf.

Billy Phelps was in the right place at the right time as he captured the win in the factory stock main. Lance Sessions exploded off the front row and led the start, but all that effort was for naught as Stan Sanders spun to a halt in turn two. Sessions continued his run on the restart, only to see a caution wave the next time around.

Sessions headed up the field for a third time and had a straight-away lead when Brad Costello came to a rest at the top of turn three in lap 4. Sessions had a strong lead when the next caution waved, but his luck ran out as he dropped a drive shaft on the track.

The restart saw cars scattering all over the track and reduced the feature to a two-lap shootout. Phelps inherited the lead and raced to the finish.

James Weve, Sonny O’Hair, Branden Rhodes and Kenton Sanders rounded out the top five.

Warman won the late model heat. Reimer and Moses took the honors in street stock.  B feature winners were Bryan Powers in modified and Chris Cary in sport modified. Frank Graven posted the win in the sport modified C.

A red flag came out when racing legend Buddy Mullens rolled violently on the back straight in the modified B feature. Two red flags waved early in the sport modified C feature, first when Creighton Decker slammed into the wall on the back straightaway, and then for a fierce crash between Nick Shenberger and Courtney McCartney.

Text Only
  • OU logo color.jpg Probe continues into incident involving Sooner RB Joe Mixon

    Norman Police are still investigating the alleged assault in which Oklahoma running back Joe Mixon is a suspect.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bradford Bradford: Yet another make or break season

    The St. Louis Rams quarterback is not surprised that once again, he’s supposedly at a career crossroads.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • celebration picture.jpeg DBAT Gallegos headed to Connie Mack World Series

    DBAT Gallegos, who has been battling adversity all season (lost five players through injuries) took advantage of their opportunities in beating Metroplex rival Dallas Mustangs, 3-0 Sunday in the finals of the Connie South Plains Regional.
    The victory put the DBAT (34-7) into the Connie Mack World Series, which begins Friday at Farmington, N.M.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Meadowlake retains Enid Ryder Cup

    Jay Betchan might have a statement a week before he tries to defend his Wheat Capital championship next week.
    Betchan completed a perfect 3-0 record for Meadowlake with a 6-and-4 win over John Petersen as the Municipal Course took the Enid Ryder Cup for the fourth straight year, 131⁄2-101⁄2 overall.
    The two teams split six singles matches Sunday at Oakwood in the final day of the three-day competition.

    July 27, 2014

  • Bruce Campbell mug use me Allie Reynolds belongs in Hall of Fame

    It was with a twinge of sadness watching the Baseball Hall of Fame ceremony on Sunday, knowing Oklahoma’s Allie Reynolds still is not in the Hall of Fame and there’s a good chance he won’t be in.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • DezPhoto.jpeg Bryant showing maurity as leader of Dallas receivers

    Dez Bryant is going into the final season of his rookie contract with the potential of a big pay day looming. And his answers on that topic sound more like a leader than the troubled rookie who didn’t pay his jewelry bills four years ago.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hall of Fame Photo.jeg Hall ceremony emotion for six inductees

    Frank Thomas choked back tears, Joe Torre apologized for leaving people out of his speech and Tony La Russa said he felt uneasy.
    Being enshrined in the Hall of Fame can have those effects, even on the greats.
    Thomas, pitchers Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux, and managers Bobby Cox, Torre and La Russa were inducted into the baseball shrine Sunday, and all paid special tribute to their families before an adoring crowd of nearly 50,000.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon nails restart to win Brickyard 400

     With a fifth Brickyard 400 victory on the line Sunday, Jeff Gordon looked like the driver he was 20 years ago.
    Gordon nailed the final restart of the race — no given because restarts have been Gordon’s Achilles heel — to pass Hendrick Motorsports teammate Kasey Kahne with 17 laps remaining at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

    July 27, 2014

  • Radio-TV for 7-28-14

    July 27, 2014

  • LeBron to wear No. 23 with Cavs

    July 27, 2014

Click here for NASCAR headlines
Sports Photos

Enid News & Eagle sports photos from the month of February 2014. Enjoy all the ENE photos with full access at