The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

December 10, 2012

Beattie named MVP on All-District A-1 team

Enid News and Eagle

ENID, Okla. — Texhoma’s Bryson Beattie was selected as the most valuable player on the All District A-1 team announced this week.

Beattie rushed for 2,197 yards , scored 33 touchdowns and caught 13 passes for 384 yards and five scores in leading Texhoma to the district championship and the state semifinals.

Red Devil teammate Henry Lehr was selected as the defensive player of the year after recording 100 tackles. Texhoma’s Aaron Witten was the coach of the year.

Fairview’s Grant Nightengale was named the offensive player of the year. He completed 197 of 293 passes for 2,532 yards and 29 touchdowns and ran for another 1,078 yards and 17 scores.

Individual honors by position went to: Joe Bean, Hooker, quarterback; Trent Turner, Okeene, running back; Michael Christopher, Fairview, wide receiver; Brandon Gipe, Texhoma, tight end; Tim Regier, Fairview, offensive line; Kalen Gabel, Beaver, defensive line; Brice Gregory, Mooreland, outside linebacker; Keiton Crawford and Augustin Barriors, Hooker, inside linebacker; Ross Smith, Fairview and Hammons Hepner, Mooreland, defensive end; Jack Powers, Texhoma, defensive back; Dylan Lipps, Fairview, kicker; and Bryce Kippenberger, Fairview, returner.

Oklahoma Bible Academy landed six players on the team — offensive lineman Doug Fain, wide receiver Tanner Roberts, running back Chris Walker, defensive lineman Andrew Luskey, defensive back Preston Atwood and outside linebacker Baylor Boyd.

Here is the All-A-1 team:


Linemen — Hunter Kahn, Fairview; Braxton Taylor and Alex Juarez, Hooker; Dakota Holloway and David San Diego, Mooreland; Doug Fain, OBA; Garrett Lorenz, Okeene; and Brian Martinez and Ethan Smith, Texhoma.

Wide Receivers — Landon Peach, Mooreland; Tanner Roberts, OBA.

Running Backs — Ryan Nash, Beaver; Joel Kliewer, Fairview; Taylor McBee, Hooker; Chris Walker, OBA; Will Gaillard, Texhoma.


Linemen — Jorge Rivera, Beaver; Baysil Prather, Mooreland; Andrew Luskey, OBA.

End — Taylor Evans, Mooreland.

Secondary — Brett Fast, Fairview; Tanner Brawner, Mooreland; Preston Atwood, OBA; Taylor Folsom, Texhoma.

Inside Linebackers — Caleb Neufeld, Fairview; Tevin Harper, Mooreland; Chance Meyer, Texhoma; Colter Reust, Texhoma; Jake Jiminez, Turpin.

Outside Linebackers — Baylor Boyd, OBA; Ramy Anderson, Texhoma; Nathan Knitig, Texhoma.