The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK


December 10, 2012

Beattie named MVP on All-District A-1 team

ENID, Okla. — Texhoma’s Bryson Beattie was selected as the most valuable player on the All District A-1 team announced this week.

Beattie rushed for 2,197 yards , scored 33 touchdowns and caught 13 passes for 384 yards and five scores in leading Texhoma to the district championship and the state semifinals.

Red Devil teammate Henry Lehr was selected as the defensive player of the year after recording 100 tackles. Texhoma’s Aaron Witten was the coach of the year.

Fairview’s Grant Nightengale was named the offensive player of the year. He completed 197 of 293 passes for 2,532 yards and 29 touchdowns and ran for another 1,078 yards and 17 scores.

Individual honors by position went to: Joe Bean, Hooker, quarterback; Trent Turner, Okeene, running back; Michael Christopher, Fairview, wide receiver; Brandon Gipe, Texhoma, tight end; Tim Regier, Fairview, offensive line; Kalen Gabel, Beaver, defensive line; Brice Gregory, Mooreland, outside linebacker; Keiton Crawford and Augustin Barriors, Hooker, inside linebacker; Ross Smith, Fairview and Hammons Hepner, Mooreland, defensive end; Jack Powers, Texhoma, defensive back; Dylan Lipps, Fairview, kicker; and Bryce Kippenberger, Fairview, returner.

Oklahoma Bible Academy landed six players on the team — offensive lineman Doug Fain, wide receiver Tanner Roberts, running back Chris Walker, defensive lineman Andrew Luskey, defensive back Preston Atwood and outside linebacker Baylor Boyd.

Here is the All-A-1 team:


Linemen — Hunter Kahn, Fairview; Braxton Taylor and Alex Juarez, Hooker; Dakota Holloway and David San Diego, Mooreland; Doug Fain, OBA; Garrett Lorenz, Okeene; and Brian Martinez and Ethan Smith, Texhoma.

Wide Receivers — Landon Peach, Mooreland; Tanner Roberts, OBA.

Running Backs — Ryan Nash, Beaver; Joel Kliewer, Fairview; Taylor McBee, Hooker; Chris Walker, OBA; Will Gaillard, Texhoma.


Linemen — Jorge Rivera, Beaver; Baysil Prather, Mooreland; Andrew Luskey, OBA.

End — Taylor Evans, Mooreland.

Secondary — Brett Fast, Fairview; Tanner Brawner, Mooreland; Preston Atwood, OBA; Taylor Folsom, Texhoma.

Inside Linebackers — Caleb Neufeld, Fairview; Tevin Harper, Mooreland; Chance Meyer, Texhoma; Colter Reust, Texhoma; Jake Jiminez, Turpin.

Outside Linebackers — Baylor Boyd, OBA; Ramy Anderson, Texhoma; Nathan Knitig, Texhoma.

Text Only
  • Majors fall Majors stumble late, fall to regional losers' bracket

    Cherry Creek, Colo., broke out for six runs in the top of the seventh for a 7-3 come-from-behind victory over the Enid Majors in the first round of the Connie Mack South Plains Regional Tuesday at David Allen Memorial Ballpark.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bob Stoops Sooners, as usual, managing expectations

    High hopes are always attached to Oklahoma and this year is no different with the Sooners entering the 2014 season as a consensus pick to reach the first College Football Playoff.

    July 22, 2014 2 Photos

  • Mike Gundy Former OSU line coach having impact on Texas staff

    It was quite possibly the biggest coaching coup of the offseason and Oklahoma State was at the wrong end of it – former Cowboy offensive line coach Joe Wickline joining the staff for Charlie Strong's Texas Longhorns.

    July 22, 2014 2 Photos

  • Charlie Strong Texas’ Strong prefers not talking national title

    Charlie Strong riled up plenty of Texas fans during a statewide spring tour by saying the Longhorns wouldn’t be in the national championship game.
    The new coach toned down his honest assessment in future stops, then said Tuesday in his first appearance at Big 12 media days that he prefers not even talking about championships.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • A new ACC? New ACC settles into era of stability

    Welcome to the new Atlantic Coast Conference.
    It’s where a founding member is out, a fast-rising program is in, Notre Dame is there, too — sort of — and nobody else is leaving.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Devonte Fields TCU’s Fields investigated for alleged assault

    TCU suspended defensive end Devonte Fields on Tuesday pending the results of a police investigation into whether he punched a former girlfriend in the head and threatened her with a gun while shouting, “I should blast you!”

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Minors lose in first round

    Wren Perry and Garrett Scudder combined for a two-hitter as the D-Bats Gallegos of Dallas run-ruled the Enid Minors 8-0 in six innings in the first round of the South Plains Regional Tuesday at David Allen Memorial Ballpark.

    July 22, 2014

  • Radio-TV for 7-23-14

    July 22, 2014

  • Baseballpicture.jpg Majors open regional with Cherry Creek

    The Enid Majors (36-12) enter the Connie Mack South Plains Regional Tournament today at David Allen Memorial Ballpark coming off one of their best seasons in the past few years. Now, the pressure is on as they face Cherry Creek, Colo.,at 8:15 tonight.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Enid Event Center_28_BV.jpg Ballpark to observe Military Appreciation Night

    David Allen Memorial Ballpark hosts Military Appreciation Night tonight during the 6 and 8:15 games of the Connie Mack South Plains Regional Tournament.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Click here for NASCAR headlines
Sports Photos

Enid News & Eagle sports photos from the month of February 2014. Enjoy all the ENE photos with full access at