The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK


December 4, 2012

Krittenbrink named B-1 MVP

ENID, Okla. — Brady Krittenbrink, who led Pond Creek-Hunter to the Class B state championship game, has been named the most valuable player on the All District B-1 team announced Tuesday.

Krittenbrink rushed for 2,109 yards and 32 touchdowns and caught 24 passes for 368 yards and 10 scores. He led the Panthers in tackles with 144 — 50 solo and 94 assisted.

Garber quarterback Jordan Avants was selected as the offensive player of the year after rushing for 2,009 yards and 38 touchdowns and throwing for 1,885 yards and 20 scores.

Laverne’s Seth Overstreet, who helped the unbeaten Tigers to their first-ever state championship, was named defensive player of the year.

Krittenbrink, Avants and Overstreet will be three of the district’s eight representatives in next summer’s Oklahoma 8-Man Coaches All-Star game.

The other five will be Tucker Hickman of Laverne, Karson Marsh of Pond Creek-Hunter, Gage Smith of Covington-Douglas, Logan Vandiver of Garber and Trek Rundle of Merritt.

Laverne’s Tim Allen will be the All-Star coach.

B-1 All-District Team

MVP — Brady Krittenbrink, Pond Creek-Hunter

Offensive Player of Year — Jordan Avants, Garber

Defensive Player of Year — Seth Overstreet, Laverne

All-District Offense

QB — Trek Rundle, Merritt. RB — Gage Smith, Covington-Douglas; Tyler Terrel, Waukomis. TE — Logan Vandiver, Garber; Thomas Sander, Seiling. SE — Brendan Flowers, Merritt; Tyler Schnaithman, Garber. OL — Cordell Burlingham, Laverne; Karson Marsh, Pond Creek-Hunter; Kyle Kitchen, Pond Creek-Hunter. Specialist — Moises Resendiz, Ringwood.

 All-District Defense

DL — Trae Simpson, Covington-Douglas; Francis Potter, Merritt. DE — Reid Haigler, Canton; Ty Golay, Covington-Douglas. LB — Tucker Hickman, Laverne; Clay Smith, Canton. DB — Gage Murphy, Laverne; Jonah Bigbey,  Covington-Douglas; Brody Tune, Seiling. Specialist — Jonathan Bolin, Garber.

All-District Underclassmen


QB — Tucker Rolf, Laverne. RB — Trevor Harris, Laverne; Trenton Grimes, Pond Creek-Hunter. E — Dallas Hunt, Garber; Rolondo Resindez, Ringwood; Dylan Daugherty, Covington-Douglas. OL — T.J. Krittenbrink, Pond Creek-Hunter; Jarren Nine, Laverne; Kenny Thompson, Medford; Ryan Sander, Seiling. Specialist — Eudaldo Gomez, Ringwood.


DL — Ryan Coontz, Waukomis; Gage Heath, Canton. DE — Dalton Birch, Laverne; Damon Lynch, Garber. LB — David Jiminez, Laverne; Trenton Harmon, Garber. DB  — Zach Rayner, Pond Creek-Hunter; Pearson Waugh, Merritt; Josh Irvin, Pond Creek-Hunter. Specialist — Kendal Schoonmaker, Canton.

All-Star Selections — Krittenbrink, Avants, Overstreet, Hickman, Marsh, Smith, Vandiver, Rundle.

All-Star Alternates — QB-RB-DB: Murphy, Miller, Terrel. OL-DL: Burlingham, Simpson, Bigbey. LB-DE-SP: Sander, Potter, M. Resendez.

All-Star Coach — Tim Allen, Laverne. All-Star Counselor — Rustin Donaldson, Ringwood. 11-Man All-State Selection — Brian Smith, Covington-Douglas.

All-District Honorable Mention

Canton: Lance Sessions, Wade Webb, Shelby Long.

Covingon-Douglas: Alan Wilson, Blake Morris, Cole Smith.

Garber: Brandon McCleave, Jeremy Newton, Seth Swaim, Brandon Morgan.

Medford: Tanner Misak, Blake Schuster, Robby Webb, Cayde Neumann.

Merritt: James Pruitt, Cody Pruitt, Ryan Garner.

Pond Creek-Hunter: Devan McKee, Jayden Chain, Austin Matlock.

Ringwood: Moses Barenas.

Seiling: Buster Horn, Kaileb House, Bowan Nyberg, Alex Spurlock, Ethan Spurlock, Ryan Manning, Matthew Whetstone.

Waukomis: Brendon McCartney, Jess Click.

Text Only
  • Moving In? Indoor football coming back to Enid?

    Oklahoma City businessman Antwone Taulton and Enid Enforcers manager Mark Timberlake are in the early stages of a plan they hope will see the return of arena football in 2015 to Enid after an absence of more than 10 years. And if things progress as one league executive expects, an official announcement could be forthcoming in the near future.

    July 29, 2014 2 Photos

  • OU logo color.jpg Probe into incident involving Mixon could last into next week

    The Norman Police investigation into the incident at Pickleman’s Gourmet Cafe in which Oklahoma running back Joe Mixon is an “involved party” could continue into next week.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Morris Claiborne Claiborne wants to prove worth to Dallas

    Morris Claiborne had already told reporters he was ready to prove he was worthy of Dallas’ dramatic move up the draft board to get him with the sixth overall pick in 2012. He didn’t waste any time showing some urgency.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Tim Tebow NCAA settles head-injury suit, will change rules

    The NCAA agreed on Tuesday to help athletes with head injuries in a proposed settlement of a class-action lawsuit that college sports’ governing body touted as a major step forward but that critics say doesn’t go nearly far enough.

    July 29, 2014 2 Photos

  • Attorney: OU's Mixon acted in self defense

    The attorney for Oklahoma running back Joe Mixon said the incident that left a 20-year-old female OU student with multiple facial fractures was a case of self-defense.

    July 29, 2014

  • OSU no longer faces APR restrictions

    NCAA officials say Oklahoma State’s football program no longer faces restrictions for the upcoming school year because its Academic Progress Rate has been amended.

    July 29, 2014

  • Radio-TV for 7-30-14

    July 29, 2014

  • Jeff Mullin mug 2012.jpg Rice's punishment hardly fit the crime

    Two games, just over 12 percent of the 16-game regular season. Two games for hitting a woman hard enough to knock her out cold.
    Rice said Monday he will not appeal his suspension, which could wind up costing him $529,411 in fines and salary. And why wouldn’t he? He must feel like he got off scot-free.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • SamBradfordpicturejpeg Bradford used to being at 'career crossroads'

    It’s become a rite of training camp for Sam Bradford.
    Every summer, he deals with the oversized burden of living up to getting picked first overall in 2010. The St. Louis Rams quarterback is not surprised that once again, he’s supposedly at a career crossroads.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • TU wins C-USA academic honor

    The University of Tulsa earned the 2013-14 Conference USA Institutional Excellence award by posting the highest grade point average during the 2013-14 academic year for all student athletes in conference-sponsored athletes, the school announced on Monday.

    July 28, 2014

Click here for NASCAR headlines
Sports Photos

Enid News & Eagle sports photos from the month of February 2014. Enjoy all the ENE photos with full access at