The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

November 29, 2012

Charles' surprise season ends with 2A-1 top QB honor

By Bruce Campbell, Staff Writer
Enid News and Eagle

ENID, Okla. — Tabor Charles didn’t do too badly for someone who had never taken a snap in a high school football game prior to this season.

The Chisholm High School senior was named the quarterback of the year on the All-District 2A-1 team announced this week.

Charles, who had concentrated on baseball until this fall, completed 37 of 103 passes for 554 yards and nine touchdowns.

He rushed for 381 yards and nine touchdowns as Chisholm went from 1-9 in 2011 to 5-5 in 2012.

“We didn’t know what we were going to get,’’ said Chisholm coach Joey Reinart about Charles. “We knew he had a little bit of speed and a lot of moxie to him.’’

With Charles, CHS tripled its passing production from the season before and got more yards rushing out of the quarterback’s position.

Chisholm’s Brady Nelson was named the inside linebacker of the year. Nelson, a four-year starter, had 44 solo and 62 assisted tackles as a senior.

“We knew what we were going to get out of Brady Nelson,’’ Reinart said. “He put in a tremendous amount of work to make himself have the season that he had. All the coaches agreed he deserved to be in that spot.’’

Two other Chisholm players — linemen Trevor Schober and Derek Curless were all-district selections. Curless had 19 tackles. Schober had 45 — 31 solo and 14 assisted

Zach Sales and Tyler Downard were honorable mention selections.

Hennessey’s Levi Hill was selected the offensive most valuable player after rushing for 1,851 yards and 27 touchdowns.

Four other  Eagles won individual honors. First-year Hennessey coach Rick Luetjen was named the coach of the year after taking the Eagles to the district title.

Kale Hajek was selected as the co-offensive lineman of the year. Car Aguirre, who had 45 tackles, was the defensive end of the year. Octavio Pina, who had six interceptions was the defensive back of the year. Trevor Dowell, who kicked 53 extra points and one field goal, was the special teams player of the year.

Alva had two honorees — Tanner McGehee, running back of the year and Cody Forell, wide receiver of the year.

McGehee rushed for 1,592 yards and 17 touchdowns. Forell had 24 receptions for 387 yards and three scores.

Other honorees were Trent Ellis, Tonkawa, district MVP; Austin Allen, Perry, defensive MVP; Dalton McNeil, Perry, running back of the year;  Laken McConnell, Newkirk, co-offensive lineman of the year; Josh Bigbear-Hand, Pawnee, tight end of the year; Jacob McMillen, defensive tackle of the year; Reese Simpson, Tonkawa, outside linebacker of the year; Gage Martin, Tonkawa, safety of the year; and Brannen Kirtley, Perry, courage award.