The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK


April 1, 2014

Enid educators deserve respect for district-wide recognition

ENID, Okla. — Teachers received tons of press coverage this week for what they were doing outside of the classroom at Monday’s state Capitol rally.

Now we’d like to give some positive recognition to their work inside the classroom.

Enid Public Schools announced its 2013-14 site teachers of the year.

The following educators should be congratulated: Brett Barnes, seventh- and eighth-grade science teacher at Waller Middle School; Lisa Bloom, physical education teacher at Hayes Elementary School; Cynthia “Cindie” Clover, learning disabilities laboratory teacher at Adams Elementary School; Dustin Damery, advanced placement Spanish teacher at Enid High School; Jane DiLuzio, special education language arts teacher at Emerson Middle School; Lauren Griffin, pre-kindergarten teacher at Eisenhower Elementary School; Kitty Herbel teaches fifth grade at Glenwood Elementary School; Desiree Highberger, fifth-grade teacher at Monroe Elementary School; Gary Kirtley, social studies teacher at Lincoln Academy; Debra Mastrianni, fourth-grade teacher at Hoover Elementary School; Sharon Meister, Title 1 reading teacher at Garfield Elementary School; Lori Painter, fourth-grade teacher at Prairie View Elementary School; Jamie Smith, first-grade teacher at Coolidge Elementary School; Susan Thomas, second-grade teacher at Taft Elementary School; Doug Walker, eighth-grade math teacher at Longfellow Middle School; and Jennifer Yape, second-grade teacher at McKinley Elementary School.

Chosen by their colleagues, the building-level teachers of the year will be contenders for district teacher of the year. That winner will be announced later this semester. Best of luck.

Mastrianni, who spent four years as a substitute teacher and five years teaching full-time, expressed an inspiring intention.

“My goal in the classroom is to build a strong community of learners,” Mastrianni said. “I believe that learning begins with attitude and that the power of positive thinking can change lives. Students must be invested in the learning process through cooperative interaction. Most of all, they need to belong to a classroom community where they feel safe and realize that every student matters.”

We’re humbled by the passionate dedication of these Enid educators. They deserve our utmost respect for this district-wide recognition.

Text Only
Featured Ads
House Ads