The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

November 7, 2012

Area voters OK 4 tax measures

Enid News and Eagle

— Voters in Alfalfa and Blaine counties approved tax measures Tuesday.

Voters in Hennessey and Okeene also approved propositions.

The Alfalfa County proposition was for a four-year extension of a two-cent county sales tax to help fund a variety of projects.

The vote was 1,319-423, or 75.7 percent, in favor.

The tax will run from Jan. 1, 2013, to Dec. 31, 2016. The breakdown of uses is:

• 55 percent to Alfalfa County EMS, of which 27 percent will go to nine fire departments.

• 22.5 percent to repair county blacktop roads.

• 10 percent to Alfalfa County Fairgrounds.

• 12.5 percent to “general operations, personal services and improvements to the government of Alfalfa County.”

The Blaine County proposition was a quarter-cent excise tax for rural fire protection. It was approved 2,296-1,385, or 62.4 percent.

The county would contract with communities of Canton, Eagle City, Geary, Greenfield, Hitchcock, Hydro, Longdale, Okeene and Watonga for rural fire protection. The 10-year tax will run from Jan. 1, 2013, to Dec. 31, 2023.

Residents in Hennessey approved two propositions.

Proposition 1 allows city officials to use excess funds in the ambulance and emergency medical services fund account for other emergency services.

It would apply when the ambulance and emergency medical services fund account tops $100,000.

It was approved 440-185, or 70.4 percent.

Proposition 2 was a 3 percent hotel/motel tax. The money would be used to promote tourism, cultural and recreational events and other community events

It was approved 376-251, or 60 percent.

In Okeene, residents approved a 1 percent tax to support Okeene Municipal Hospital.

The vote was 382-106, or 78.3 percent.

State Senate District 27

State Sen. Bryce Marlatt won re-election to the District 27 seat. He defeated independent Tommy Nicholson 22,949-4,209, or 84.5 percent.

District 27 encompasses much of northwest Oklahoma and the entire Panhandle, covering almost 12,500 square miles in Major, Woods, Dewey, Ellis, Woodward, Harper, Beaver, Cimarron and Texas counties.

Marlatt, R-Woodward, was elected in 2008. Nicholson lives in Mooreland. This was his first run at public office.

Elsewhere in northwest Oklahoma, results were:

Blaine County

• Sheriff — Republican Margarett Parman defeated Democrat Tony Almaguer 2,058-1,737, or 54.2 percent.

• Watonga mayor — Ernest Clay Loosen won a four-person race to fill an unexpired term, even though he did not receive a majority of the vote. He received 412 votes, to 372 for Edna F. Justice, 146 for Marcus Wray and 129 for Weldon E. Poarch Jr.

Grant County

• County clerk — Republican Debbie Kretchmar defeated Democrat Sherri Eulberg 1,189-878, gaining 57.5 percent of the vote.

• County commissioner District 2 — Republican Cindy R. Bobbitt defeated Democrat Clarke Schmitz 340-276, winning 55.2 percent of the vote.

Kingfisher County

• Sheriff — Democrat incumbent Dennis Banther retained his post by defeating Republican Michael S. Jones 3,297-2,009.

• Court Clerk — Republican Lisa Markus defeated Democrat Lisa Benson 3,612-1,704.

Woodward County

• Sheriff — Incumbent Republican sheriff Gary Stanley defeated Democrat challenger Joe A. Adams 3,613-3,430, or 51.3 percent.

• County Commissioner District 2 — Republican Randy Johnson defeated Democrat William J. Phillips 2,002-780, winning 72 percent of the vote.