The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

Local and State News

May 9, 2013

EPS Teacher of the year

ENID, Okla. — An Enid music teacher who two years ago was inducted into the Oklahoma Music Education Association Hall of Fame was named Enid Public Schools Teacher of the Year Thursday evening.

Eddie Lou Strimple was named Teacher of the Year during the Enid Education Association Recognition and Retirement Banquet.

Strimple is music teacher at McKinley Elementary School. She has taught with EPS all 42 of her years as a teacher. She will go on to represent EPS in the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year competition.

Kay Kiner, McKinley principal, recalled Strimple’s reaction earlier when she was named McKinley Teacher of the Year.

“When it was announced at our Good Morning, McKinley assembly that Eddie Lou Strimple was the Teacher of the Year for McKinley, she whispered to me, ‘This means so much because it was from my peers,’” Kiner said. “The teachers that have been with Eddie Lou at McKinley say that she is the foundation of McKinley."

This is the third year in a row the district Teacher of the Year award has gone to a McKinley teacher.

“All of the excellence in teaching and student successes have been founded in her quiet leadership, teamwork, arts integration, and support,” Kiner said.

“She integrates curriculum in her music instruction and uses so many teaching strategies to engage the students’ brains and attention. I am amazed how many skills she teaches every 30 minutes. I see her support for all the teachers at McKinley, but also as a mentor and encourager with her fellow district music teachers. After 42 years with EPS, you would never know because she is still the most enthusiastic music teacher. She goes above and beyond to find the spark for each student.”

Strimple is the third McKinley teacher in a row to receive the honor. Kindergarten teacher Alyssa Plummer was the recipient last year, and Shawna Tanner received the award in 2011. Both now teacher at Prairie View Elementary School.

Other teacher-of-the-year candidates honored Thursday evening were Ann Allen, science teacher at Lincoln Academy;  Sue Dell, second grade teacher at Eisenhower Elementary School; Kathryn Dorton, music teacher at Adams Elementary School; James Ebel, eighth-grade history teacher at Longfellow Middle School; Lisa Eldora, band teacher at Waller Middle School; Reba Gregory, first grade teacher at Hayes Elementary School; Natalie Holland, kindergarten teacher at Garfield Elementary School; Rob Kappus, science teacher at Emerson Middle School; Nicole Moneypenny, kindergarten teacher at Hoover Elementary School; Robin Newby, kindergarten teacher at Taft Elementary School; Linda Outhier, drama and debate teacher at Enid High School; Melissa Ross, first grade teacher at Prairie View; Kellie Stock, music teacher at Coolidge Elementary School; Betsy Weaver, first grade teacher at Monroe Elementary School; and Deni Williams, first grade teacher at Glenwood Elementary School.

Retirees honored include David Astley, 35 years; Susan Bartlett, 33 years; Debra Brock, 29 years; Sondra “Kay” Dragoun, 38 years; David Fischer, 32 years; Donna S. Gay, 29 years; Ronald D. Goldy, 13 years; Sherrie K. Henderson, 33 years; Timothy G. Jones, 34 years; Judith K. Jorden,  28 years; Marsha G. Lines, 29 years; JoAnn M. McGuire, 40 years; Linda L. Moore, 32 years; Joyce H. Pitt, 20 years; Patricia M. Ray, 36 years; Patricia L. Ritter, 36 years; DeAnne M. Sacket, 27 years; James L. Turner, 22 years.

Text Only
Local and State News
News Photos

Enid News & Eagle photos taken throughout February 2014. Enjoy full-access all ENE photos at