The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

Local and State News

May 15, 2013

Teacher of teachers is honored

ENID, Okla. — An Enid teacher of teachers recently was honored by Oklahoma Education Association.

Sherri Hendrie, instructional coach at Emerson Middle School and Coolidge Elementary School, is the winner of OEA’s 2013 Professional Excellence Award for Teachers Teaching Teachers.

Hendrie developed the school improvement plan in an effort to raise Emerson from the state’s School Improvement list for the 2011-12 school year. Hendrie’s goal was to create a new environment at the school with effective teaching strategies, high student accountability and plenty of opportunities for student success.

The program’s goal was for students to become self-motivated, accountable and successful in the classroom. Emerson was removed from the improvement list for 2012-13.

Coolidge was put on the list for the 2012-13 school year, Assistant Superintendent Ruth Ann Erdner said. Efforts to remove Coolidge from the list are ongoing.

Additionally, Enid Education Association won the OEA Collective Bargaining Award and Five Star Local Award.

The Collective Bargaining Award is given to an individual or local association for making a significant contribution to the advancement of education through the collective bargaining process.

One issue that continually arises is how teacher workload continues to increase from legislative action or inaction. Mandates and the loss of funding have put teachers and districts in a bind. With that in mind, EEA worked to add compensation for duties outside the normal instructional assignment.

Enid teachers now receive extra pay if they lose planning time because they are required to take another teacher’s class, are required by the administration to attend professional development outside the normal school day, are assigned to supervise students at an after-school function, or are assigned to supervise lunch, breakfast, after-school supervision, bus duty or Saturday school.

Members of EEA’s bargaining team are Rick Moulton, Kim Brittan, Reba Gregory, Cindy Moore and Linda Reams.

Text Only
Local and State News
News Photos

Enid News & Eagle photos taken throughout February 2014. Enjoy full-access all ENE photos at