The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

June 19, 2013

EPS board OKs 3-year contract for Supt. Hime

By Phyllis Zorn, Staff Writer
Enid News and Eagle

ENID, Okla. — Enid Public Schools Board of Education members gave Superintendent Shawn Hime a vote of confidence this week when they signed a new contract for another three years.

The new contract runs from July 1 through June 30, 2016.

Hime will be paid $143,500 per year.

Karl White, chief financial officer for the school district, said Hime’s will receive a 2.5 percent increase in pay.

“That’s in line with what others were given,” White said.

The district will contribute 7 percent of Hime’s salary to the Oklahoma Teacher Retirement Fund, and pay an amount equal to 11 percent to a 403(b) retirement plan on Hime’s behalf.

Additionally, Hime will be paid $500 a month to promote the district in civic and community activities, social and after-school functions.

Supt. Shawn Hime contract

The board also hired four administrators.

• Randall Rader was hired as assistant superintendent of elementary education. Prior to this position, he served as an elementary principal and assistant principal for Putnam City Public Schools. A former third-grade teacher, he earned his undergraduate and graduate degrees from Southern Nazarene University. Rader is president of Oklahoma Association of Elementary School Principals. He has consulted for many Oklahoma schools on the issue of instructional improvement, and he also is a first sergeant in the Army Reserve.

• Melonie Hau has been named assistant superintendent of secondary education. Prior to this position, she served as director of curriculum and school improvement for EPS. Her experience also includes being a freshmen academy principal and high school assistant principal at Deer Creek. A former English teacher, she earned her undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Central Oklahoma. She is a published writer who has presented curriculum-related workshops in several states across the nation.

“We are excited to welcome Randall Rader to our leadership team, as assistant superintendent of elementary education,” Hime said. “His expertise, experience and forward-thinking attitude will be a tremendous asset to the district. I am also pleased to have Melonie Hau transition from director of curriculum and school improvement to assistant superintendent for secondary education. Melonie has been instrumental in our efforts to strengthen instructional programs and implement best practices that make a difference for students.

“Both of these educational leaders share a passion for learning, collaborating and sharing ideas. They believe our greatest responsibility is to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed. It is an exciting time for our district.”

• Jon Mitchell has been named assistant principal at Enid High School. Mitchell was assistant principal of Waller Middle School. His experience includes teaching, coaching and administrative responsibilities with Chisholm, Agra, Glenpool and Perkins-Tryon public schools. He earned his graduate degree at Northeastern State University and his undergraduate degree at Oklahoma State University. He has been instrumental in Waller’s implementation of Professional Learning Communities, student tutoring opportunities and other instructional support programs.

• Dawna Reynolds has been named assistant principal at Waller. Reynolds was elementary principal and curriculum coordinator for Maud Public Schools. Her experience includes being a social studies teacher and coach at Macomb, Binger-Oney and Bridge Creek public schools. She earned her graduate degree from East Central University and her undergraduate degree from Oklahoma State University. She has presented numerous workshops about instruction, including how different teaching and learning strategies that can benefit boys and girls.


These are the personnel transactions for the June 17 meeting of the Enid School Board.

Terminated was N. Sue Gammon, Child Nutrition/Cafe, Enid High School.

Hired on regular contracts were Wendi Barry, early childhood; Robyn Beauchamp, special education; Shannon Burk, elementary; Dustin Damery, Spanish; Kathryn Dorton, vocal music; Kacie Earl, early childhood; Kaylea Felt, elementary; Carl Gaebler IV, social studies; D. Michelle Hilterbran, social studies; Kyle Hilterbran, mathematics; Paige Klemme, elementary; Rachael Lawler, German; Heather Miles, elementary; Melissa Ross, early childhood; Ashton Shire, elementary; and Susan Thomas, early childhood.

Hired on second-year certified temporary contracts were Misty Alvarez, special education; Laurel Bushman, special education; Glenn Cathey, social studies; Stephen Chard, PE/HS head football coach; Kimberli Collins, counselor; Sophie Doro, science; Elizabeth Fisher, early childhood; Adrian Gomez, band; Lauren Griffin, early childhood; V. Viann Hardesty, language arts; Tara Harmon, early childhood; Audrey House, elementary; Elizabeth Lara, early childhood; Ashley Levick, early childhood; Mindy Lewis, early childhood; Lori Miles, early childhood; Julie Moore, elementary; Lori Palmer, reading; Anthony Peters, mathematics; Alexia Powers, early childhood; E. Elaine Quillman, vocal music; Amanda Runquist, early childhood; Wendy Singleton, early childhood part time; James Smith, mathematics; Jamie Smith, early childhood; Nathan Sullivan, science; Caroline Thornton, elementary; Courtney Tiglas, elementary; Robyn Walker, early childhood; and Cheri Ward, early childhood.

Hired on first-year certified temporary contracts were Dirk Allen, counselor; Denise Bowers, elementary; Sarah Brodt, early childhood; Tanner Bryan, science; Erika Christner, mathematics; Melanie Christner, library media specialist; Rhonda Craig, early childhood; Chad Eastin, mathematics; Shanae Fourkiller, early childhood; Norma “Elena” Gartland, early childhood; Paige Hampton, early childhood; Peggy Harris, language arts part time; Krysta Haworth, early childhood; Deanna Healy, early childhood; P. Rick Hockmeyer, science part time; Tabbitha Huggins, elementary; Elizabeth Kuykendall, elementary; Michael Long, science; Rene Long, mathematics; Jennifer Mangio, special education; Pierre Mazboudi, mathematics; Damon McKinney, English; Cassandra Miller, elementary; Leann Mills, special education; Beverly Moody, English; Shane Murray, science; Rebecca Powell, elementary; Krista Reith, early childhood; Alyson Roeser, early childhood; Alaina Smith, early childhood; Kelsey Staudenecker, elementary; Jamee Sturdevant, early childhood; Hollee Terry, elementary; Ashley Weibling, library media specialist; June Weinmeister, Art; and Allison White, mathematics part time.

Hired on certified temporary contracts were Cayla Burdick, elementary; Sam Hardwidge-Hiett, social studies; Georgina Herrera, Spanish; Erik Holt, social studies; and Jennie Odell, French.

Hired on a support contract was Miguel Ortiz-Caraballo, custodian, Prairie View.

Retirements include Cheryl Boyer, secretary, Hoover; Judith Fagan, special education, Taft; Barbara “Susie” Himes; paraprofessional, Monroe; and Laura Pullin, paraprofessional, Waller; and Kimberly Zaloudek, fourth grade, Coolidge.

Resignations include Mary Armstrong, paraprofessional, Glenwood; Amy Barnett, secretary, Glenwood; Misty Botts, paraprofessional, Glenwood; Sarah Brodt, teacher assistant, Glenwood; Anna Bryant, secretary, Monroe; Alexandria Castellanos, teacher assistant, Monroe; Joelle Collins, teacher assistant, Monroe; Lisa Fox, teacher assistant, Glenwood; Darci Haggard, fifth grade, Garfield; Jennifer “Rosie” Johnson, 4-year-old program, Ashley Jones, teacher assistant, Hayes; Stephen Kerns, paraprofessional, Glenwood; Lindsey Schroder, vocal music, Glenwood; Amanda Robinson, teacher assistant, Glenwood; and Jamee Sturdevant, teacher assistant, Glenwood.