The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

Local and State News

May 5, 2011

McKinley second-grade educator Shawna Tanner is named EPS Teacher of the Year

ENID — A teacher who began her school career with Enid Public Schools at age 5 was named Teacher of the Year at Thursday evening’s Enid Education Association recognition and retirement banquet.

Shawna Tanner, second-grade teacher at McKinley Elementary School, was selected out of a field of 15 candidates.

“I’m humbled, honored, shocked and excited,” Tanner said. “I’ve been with Enid Public Schools since I was in kindergarten.”

Tanner has been a teacher 13 years. As district Teacher of the Year, she will represent Enid at the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year competition in the fall.

“Shawna is passionate about teaching, and it shows,” said her principal, Jan Robinson. “She takes great care to develop specific academic goals for her students, refining her teaching methods throughout the year to help students reach their goals. Shawna’s enthusiasm is contagious. She is well-loved and respected by students, parents and co-workers alike.”

All 15 building-level teachers of the year were recognized during the recognition and retirement banquet. The other teachers honored were Melissa Boeckman, Hayes Elementary School; Jamie Buzzetta, Eisenhower Elementary School; Gina Corderman, GleNwood Elementary School; Dudley Darrow, Enid High School; Gena Fitzpatrick, Hoover Elementary School; Heather Harbron, Monroe Elementary School; Carolyn Harwood, Adams Elementary School; Kelli Irvin, Lincoln Academy; Cece Kuehl, Taft Elementary School; Kevin Miller, Emerson Middle School; C. Suzanne Parrish, Coolidge Elementary School; Linda Snodgrass, Garfield Elementary School; Bridget Stovall, Waller Middle School; and Harry D. Walker, Longfellow Middle School.

Retiring teachers also were recognized Thursday evening. They were Nancy Bliss, Melissa Boeckman, Christine Clifton, Janet Coontz, Anthony Crispo, James Gelsthorpe, Jennifer Gwinnup, JoAnn Johnson, Stephen Johnson, Randal Kirkhart, William Mayberry, Carolyn McKeaigg, Steven Peck, Vicki Perkins, Floyd Pollet, Karen Pollet, Ann Reding, Jacqueline Reed, Brenda Reinschmiedt, Dian Salisbury and Bill Word.

Text Only
Local and State News
News Photos

Enid News & Eagle photos taken throughout February 2014. Enjoy full-access all ENE photos at