The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

March 30, 2013

Elections: Covington, Garber to vote on city leaders

Kevin Hassler, Associate Editor
Enid News and Eagle

— Residents in Covington and Garber will choose city leaders Tuesday during municipal elections.

Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

In Covington, three people are running for two four-year terms on the board of trustees. Incumbent Sherry Sterling fills one of those seats. Also running are Neil R. Kirk and Donald Kaiser.

Sterling has been on the board since 2007. She had been interested in participating for some 10 years before joining the board.

“I wanted to be more of a solution, instead of being one who just sat out there and complained,” she said.

She said one of the biggest issues facing the town has been solved, and that involved the town’s sewer lagoon.

The work was finished last winter, she said, ending a time when the city was under a consent order by Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality to fix the lagoon.

The biggest issues now facing the community, she said, are working on the water and sewer lines, which she called “ancient.”

The town has received a Community Development Block Grant to begin work on water lines on Main Street, she said. That work should begin this summer or early fall.

Kirk was appointed to the board in October to fill an unexpired term and decided to run for a full term.

“I think it’s important for all citizens to volunteer and be involved in some kind of community service,” he said.

He said his main issue is seeing that day-to-day services are provided, pointing out having a volunteer fire department, police service, water and streets.

“It’s all important,” he said.

He wants the board to be responsive to people’s needs “in a reasonable and logical way.”

Kaiser has not served before, but said he has attended meetings and wants “to help make decisions for the town.”

His biggest issues are cleaning up some of the properties in town, and hiring a police officer so the town will have a law enforcement officer again.


In Garber, incumbent Patricia Berry is seeking another four-year term to her Ward 2 City Council seat.

She will face Warren Dell for the post.

Berry said she has been on the board for more than nine years and served more than four as mayor.

She said she would like to continue the work the board has done.

“I want to see our projects get finished,” Berry said, “I want to see that the town progresses.”

A new water treatment plant is going in, she said, and the town has applied for a CDBG grant for work on water lines. The plant will remove carbon tetrachloride and nitrates from municipal water.

Housing is another issue officials have been working on, Berry said. They are hoping to get someone to build apartments or rent houses.

 One other issue, Berry said, is finding a police officer for the town. The town currently is without a police officer.

Dell said he has had an interest in local government for some time. He is a retired Garber teacher, and still teaches part time.

“I thought if I’m going to do it, now is the time to do it,” he said of running for office. “I want Garber to be a progressive community that is an attractive place for people to live.”

Two big issues he identified are not new ones to the community, but are being dealt with. One is the water issue, which city officials will have to continue to monitor, Dell said.

The other is the lack of a police officer. The town hasn’t been able to keep one for more than a few months, Dell said. He said he understands it always will be a stepping-stone job, but he’d like to see some stability.

Other offices up for election in northwest Oklahoma, according to the Oklahoma State Election Board are:

Alfalfa County

• Cherokee treasurer — Kryslyn Packard and Esther Lingemann.

• Carmen Board of Trustees (unexpired term, two will serve) — Ronald Kephart, Nancy Oldham, Elias Stonehocker.

• Jet Board of Trustees (two will serve) — Diane Rene Christine, Lindeen Evans and Matt Morris.

• Jet Board of Trustees (unexpired term) — Wanda Gray and Nina Britain.

• Jet town clerk-treasurer (unexpired term) — Donna S. Keller and Stephanie L. Carson.

Blaine County

• Watonga Ward 2 council — Rick Garcia and Brent Wilkinson.

• Watonga Ward 3 council — Richard Hightower, Tim Howard, Matthew Giles, Marcus Wray and Ryan Bruner.

• Longdale Board of Trustees — Michael L. Colvard, James S. McGuire and Martha L. Berry.

Grant County

• Lamont Board of Trustees — Dan McWilliams, Mark Sproull and Lynda Theilen.

Major County

• Fairview City Council (at large) — Irv Ogden and Garen Martens.

Woods County

• Alva City Council Ward 3, Seat 1 — Bo Hannaford and Roger D. Hardaway.

• Waynoka City Councl Ward 1, Seat 2 — Sharon Kopriva and Michael Duval.

• Waynoka City Council Ward 4 Seat 2 — Ronnie Pitts and Carlson Stewart.

• Freedom Board of Trustees Office 2 (unexpired term) — Ty Harper and Jovita L. Rhodes.

Woodward County

• Woodward City Council Ward 4 — Larry J. Brittain and Michelle Williamson.

• Fort Supply Board of Trustees — Clay Hickman, Debra S. Hunter, Donna McCaslin, Betty L. Winters, June Wilson, Susan Hunter and Phillip Burkhalter.

• Fort Supply clerk-treasurer (unexpired term) — Rhonda D. Dickenson and Donna J. Burkhalter.

• Mooreland Board of Trustees — Todd Finley, Travis Case and Darrel E. Loghry.

• Mooreland Board of Trustees (unexpired term) — Willie Wyrick and Anne M. Prather.