The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

July 27, 2010

Area races lead to runoffs

Staff reports
Enid News and Eagle

— Rob Johnson will replace his father in the state Senate after winning a three-way race Tuesday in the Republican primary for the Senate District 22 seat.

Sen. Mike Johnson, R-Kingfisher, had to give up the seat because of term limits.

Rob Johnson defeated fellow Republicans Bob Bradway and Bob Barnett in Tuesday’s primary. No Democrats or independents filed for the seat.

Johnson tallied 5,214 votes, to 2,606 for Barnett and 1,891 for Bradway.

In the Kingfisher County associate district judge contest, Robert E. “Bob” Davis defeated Sara Boeckman and Dan Stake to claim the seat on the bench.

Davis had 2,129 votes, to 678 for Stake and 583 for Boeckman.

In Major County, Tim Haworth and John W. McCue II will have a runoff Nov. 2 to determine who will become the next associate district judge.

Haworth received 1,103 votes to McCue’s 801 votes Tuesday, but Haworth received only 44.62 percent of the vote, which means there will be a runoff between the top two finishers in the race.

James A. Wilkinson finished a distant third with 568 votes.

Haworth is assistant district attorney for Major County. McCue has practiced law for 39 years in Fairview.

John A. Haworth will remain Major County District 1 commissioner after defeating Justin A. DeHaas and Brandon Harmon Tuesday in the Republican primary.

Haworth won 52.31 percent of the vote with 363 votes, while DeHaas came in second with 260 votes. Harmon was third with only 71 votes. No Democrat or independent candidates filed.

Republicans Travis Rohla and John Robison will have a runoff Aug. 24 to determine if Rohla will remain Major County District 3 commissioner, or if Robison will take the position from him.

Rohla garnered 42.25 percent of the vote with 229 votes, while Robison received 32.10 percent of the vote with 174 votes. Don Voth finished third with 139 votes.

No Democrats or independents filed for the office.

In Woods County, Mike Goucher will remain District 3 commissioner after defeating Gregory F. Scioli in the Republican primary election.

Goucher received 263 votes to 140 votes for Scioli. Goucher has been District 3 commissioner for 12 years.

In Woodward County, Sonya Coleman will be the next treasurer after defeating her opponent, Brenda Neagle in the Republican primary election.

Coleman received 1,151 votes to Neagle’s 851.

Republican Jeff McIntosh and Tommy Roedell will have a runoff Aug. 24 to determine who will become the next Woodward County District 1 Commissioner.

McIntosh came in with 269 votes, or 49.27 percent of the vote, while Roedell received 197 votes. Stephanie Gillenwaters finished third with 80 votes.

Incumbent Jerry Shaffer kept his Grant County District 3 commissioner seat, beating challenger Larry Meritt 104-84 in the Democratic primary.

No Republicans or independents filed for the seat, so Shaffer was elected to another four-year term.

In Blaine County, Mike Allen won the Democratic primary for the District 1 commissioner post, beating Darryl Hicks 225-165. Allen will face incumbent Republican Melba Nance in the Nov. 2 general election.

In Alfalfa County, Ray Walker, with 104 votes, outpolled three other opponents to lead the District 3 commissioner Republican primary. However, he did not receive a majority of the votes, polling 44.4 percent, so, he will face incumbent James Simpson, who had 70 votes, in an Aug. 24 runoff.

The winner of the runoff will take the seat since no Democrats or independents filed.

Roger Nichols, with 38 votes, and Raymond Stonehocker, with 22, were the other two candidates.