The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

April 5, 2014

NW Oklahoma FFA members named proficiency finalists

Enid News and Eagle

ENID, Okla. — Several northwest Oklahoma FFA members have been named state finalists for agricultural proficiency awards.

Three finalists are selected in each of 49 agricultural proficiency award categories. The state winner in each area will be announced April 30 during the 88th State FFA Convention held at the Cox Convention Center in Oklahoma City.

Proficiency awards recognize excellence in a supervised agricultural experience program and exceptional accomplishment in progressing toward specific agricultural career objectives. These awards encourage members to develop specialized skills to apply toward future careers. Members are recognized for their accomplishments at the local, state and national levels.

The state winner in each area will represent Oklahoma in the national FFA competition this fall in Louisville, Ky.

In addition to receiving a plaque and cash award, finalists will enjoy an honors luncheon with their sponsors. The awards luncheon is sponsored by Gilbert & Sons Trucking, Farm Credit Associations of Oklahoma, Triangle Cooperative Service Company, Chesapeake Energy Corporation, Agricultural Workers Mutual Auto Insurance Company and the Oklahoma Pork Council.

Northwest Oklahoma finalists are:

BURLINGTON — Jonathan Armbruster, Diversified Crop Production Placement; Bayli Hyde, Home and/or Community Development E/P.

CANTON — Luke Fuqua, Agricultural Mechanics Energy Systems E/P.

CHEROKEE — Macy Starks, Food Science & Technology E/P.

CIMARRON — Grant Gregory, Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production E/P.

DOVER — Shelby Brewer, Grain Production Placement.

DRUMMOND — Clayton Mack, Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production E/P.

FAIRVIEW — Lindsay Pembrook, Agricultural Communications E/P.

GARBER — Jessica Cinnamon, Forge Production E/P; Tyler Hatch, Agricultural Mechanics Repair & Maintenance Placement; Garrett Heinrich, Chapter Reporter Contest; Kellan Hostetler, Diversified Agricultural Production E/P; Tyler Schnaithman, Diversified Agricultural Production E/P; Jarred Strate, Agricultural Mechanics Design & Fabrication E/P.

KREMLIN-HILLSDALE — Carlee Salisbury, Grain Production Entrepreneurship.

LAVERNE — ake Fanning, Beef Production Entrepreneurship.

MOORELAND — Mikayla Kenny, Home and/or Community Development E/P; Landon Peach, Grain Production Entrepreneurship.

MULHALL-ORLANDO — Ryon Boatright, Small Animal Production & Care E/P; Lincoln Lewis, Agricultural Service E/P; Karisa Pfeiffer, Goat Production E/P.

OKEENE — Will Bedwell, Grain Production Placement.

POND CREEK-HUNTER — Devon Dillon, Diversified Crop Production Placement.

RINGWOOD — Ryli Powell, Swine Production Entrepreneurship.

WAUKOMIS — Brittany Bingham, Forest Management & Products E/P; Dalton Clark, Swine Production Placement; Ryan Coontz, Agricultural Mechanics Repair & Maintenance Entrepreneurship; Coulten Cue, Nursery Operations E/P; Kysha Eck, Diversified Crop Production Placement.

WAYNOKA — Colton Budy, Chapter Reporter Contest.