The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

December 28, 2013

Jackson to receive award from OFB

Enid News and Eagle

ENID, Okla. — Rep. Mike Jackson, of Enid, is among 15 of the state’s top agricultural advocates who will receive the Oklahoma Farm Bureau 2013 Champion Award during the OKFB Leadership Conference, Feb. 17-18 in Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma Farm Bureau Board of Directors is recognizing the state leaders and legislators for going above and beyond to protect and improve agriculture and rural Oklahoma during the 2013 legislative session.

“As the state’s largest agricultural organization, we are committed to preserving the livelihood and legacy of our fellow farmers and ranchers,” OKFB President Tom Buchanan said. “It is an honor to distinguish these state leaders who share our vision and who continue to help make positive strides for Oklahoma agriculture.”

Gov. Mary Fallin also will be honored as will: Sen. Mike Schulz, Altus; Sen. John Sparks, Norman; Sen. Eddie Fields, Wynona; Sen. Bryce Marlatt, Woodward; Sen. Kim David, Porter; Sen. Larry Boggs, Wilburton; Sen. Kyle Loveless, Oklahoma City; Speaker T.W. Shannon, Lawton; Rep. Dale DeWitt, Braman; Rep. Don Armes, Faxon; Rep. Jerry Shoemake, Morris; Rep. Steve Martin, Bartlesville; and Rep. Skye McNiel, Bristow.

Nominations for the awards were received from county Farm Bureau boards and the OKFB Board of Directors.

“As a farmer and rancher in northern Oklahoma, I have seen firsthand the positive impact Rep. Jackson has made on our state’s agricultural industry,” OKFB District 7 Director Roland Pederson said. “We appreciate his service and his passion for rural Oklahoma.”