The Enid News and Eagle, Enid, OK

September 15, 2012

Fairview members place

By Lindsay Pembrook, Fairview FFA reporter

— Fairview FFA and 4-H’ers participated at the Major County Fair Aug. 23-25.

In the swine show, Audrey Dunlap exhibited the third-place cross barrow, while placing second with her cross gilt. Addyson Walenta also showed a gilt in the open division and received breed champion Hampshire gilt.

At the goat show, Lane Spradlin exhibited the Division 1 reserve champion wether and won senior goat showmanship. Jake Spradlin showed a wether goat and placed first in his class. Tori Sessions was Division 2 champion and Division 3 reserve champion with her does.

In the cattle show, Jennifer Bedwell exhibited the grand champion heifer as well as the reserve grand champion prospect steer. Jennifer also received the senior showmanship award.

Fairview also was represented well during the sheep show. Payton Van Meter exhibited the breed champion Hampshire and crossbred wethers. Her Crossbred was selected as grand champion market lamb. She also was awarded senior sheep showmanship. Olivia Mason was the showman of the reserve breed crossbred market lamb, which ended up being the reserve grand champion wether. Ella Strader was awarded grand champion ewe lamb, and Brant Strader received reserve grand open lamb. Alli Siler won breed champion with her Dorset. Kiera Case exhibited the breed and reserve breed champion Southdown. Brandon Case won breed and reserve breed speckleface. Taylor McKinney won first place with her crossbred wether lamb, and Devon McKinney exhibited the grand champion open lamb. Shane Rippe won first place with his Hampshire lamb.

Fairview FFA also participated in the livestock judging contest and took home first place in the senior FFA division. Kyle Hiebert was first high individual in the contest. Other team members were Jennifer Bedwell, Cullen Duran and Shane Rippe.

Jerrod Lundry, ag educator at Fairview Public Schools, has been selected as the 2012 Oklahoma winner of the Outstanding Young Member award given by the National Association of Agricultural Educators.

Outstanding Young Member award winners are agricultural educators who have been teaching for no more than six years and who have demonstrated progress toward establishing a successful agricultural education program. The award was created to encourage ag teachers to remain in the profession and become members in the professional association. Lundry will compete against winners from surrounding states to be named 2012 Region II NAAE Outstanding Young Member.